Skip to main content

At English International School of Moscow, the highest quality, fully-trained teachers from the UK are selected for their experience and excellence. Each one is proficient in teaching the English National Curriculum, from the early years (from 3 years of age) through to achieving the highest pass rates at IGCSE and A level examination.

Today, A Level examinations are sought after by all prestigious universities and employers across the world. At English International School of Moscow, we work with the prestigious examination boards of Cambridge University and Edexcel to deliver the highly esteemed Advanced Level examinations.

You can learn more about the English Curriculum on the UK Government’s website by selecting the button below.

We also have specialist teachers offering the highest quality English as an additional language (EAL) programme. In addition, all of our teachers are trained to deliver a curriculum to both English first language and second language students in their classroom.

The information below shows what Key Stage your child would be in as part of the English National Curriculum at English International School of Moscow:

We appreciate the cozy, family friendly atmosphere as well as the professional attitude of the teachers and administrative personnel.

Year 7 Parents

Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage

3 – 5 years

At the Early Years Foundation Stage, there are seven areas of learning and development. All areas are important and inter-connected and are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

There are seven areas of learning and development. All areas are important and inter-connected and are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The seven areas are:

  1. Communication and language

    Children are given opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

  2. Physical development

    Young children are provided with opportunities to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children are also helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

  3. Personal, social and emotional development

    Children develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; form positive relationships and develop respect for others; develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and have confidence in their own abilities.

  4. Literacy

    Children link sounds and letters and begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

  5. Mathematics

    Children develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

  6. Understanding the world

    Children learn to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

  7. Expressive arts and design

    Children explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.


Primary – Key stages 1 and 2

5 – 11 years

The English National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘Key Stages’ (KS). Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 are referred to as Primary Education. Throughout their years of Primary Education at EIS Moscow, your child’s teacher will assess performance to measure your child’s progress.

Levels of attainment – measuring progress

For each subject there is a ‘programme of study’. It describes what children should learn. Each subject has ‘attainment targets’ - usually split into 8 levels for each subject. Parents receive two written reports during the academic year, telling you the level your child has attained. The first is a Progress Report, which is issued at the end of the first term. At this point you will be given a Level of Attainment for Reading, Writing and Mathematics, as well as progress and effort grades for each subject.

The End of Year Report will give parents an update on Levels of Attainment, progress and effort along with a comprehensive narrative for each subject.

The curriculum content for each subject is issued to parents at the start of each term. Key Stage 1 & Key Stage 2 subjects including:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • Russian
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Personal Social and Health Education (PSHE)
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT)

ICT is integrated into other areas of the curriculum, as technology is used to enhance learning as well as a research facility.


Secondary – Key Stage 3

11 – 14 Years

The secondary school curriculum, from Year 7 to Year 11, follows the British model closely. Major subjects include:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • French
  • Russian
  • ICT/Computing
  • History
  • Geography
  • World Studies
  • Art
  • Music
  • Personal Social and Health Education (PSHE)
  • Drama (East campus only)
  • Physical Education

Secondary – Key Stage 4

14 – 16 Years

At 16, all students sit the International General Certificate of Secondary Education examination in 5 or more subjects with most students taking 8 subjects. This is an external award, ideal preparation for the Sixth Form and A Levels.

Minority subjects are offered where possible. The science curriculum comprises Biology, Chemistry and Physics. All pupils are set homework each day. The amount and content increases as children get older and more responsible for independent study.

IGCSE is the national, broadly based exam taken at 16; A Levels qualify students for university.

Sixth Form

Secondary - Key Stage 5/Sixth Form

16 – 18 years

The English International School, Moscow East has high expectations of our students both in work ethos and behaviour. Sixth Form students have reached an age where they are young men and women, so we want to them to realise their independence within the school structure.

The Sixth Form is a two year programme focusing on studying their chosen Advanced Level subjects. It is obviously a very crucial two years as it is the step before going off to college or university.

We treat this period of time very seriously and encourage and support the Sixth Form students in every which way we can. This will come in the form of direct teaching of the A' Level academic programme and university and college guidance. A' Level success qualifies them for entry to major universities worldwide.

The Sixth Form is allocated a common room and study area for private study. We aim to ensure our ‘ blossoming ‘ Sixth Form will develop into a truly successful pinnacle of the English International School, Moscow East campus.