skip to main content

The English International School curriculum is based on the English National Curriculum, enhanced to meet the needs of the local and expatriate students. Essentially this means that in addition to the core curriculum, there is an opportunity for pupils to study Russian. Expatriate students are introduced to the Russian language and fluent Russian speakers can maintain familiarity with their native language. All pupils learn about the culture, history and geography of Russia.

The English National Curriculum is a set of subjects and standards used by schools in England and by British style international schools.  It covers what subjects are taught and the standards students should reach in each subject.

High academic standards depend on a good working environment and a willing student. The school is lucky to have excellent facilities and educational resources. The programme is well balanced: there is time for music, drama and sports as well as academic work.        

Admissions Information

I rate my child’s progress as excellent. He can’t wait to come to school every day, literally!

Parent of a student at EIS Moscow South-West

Early Years

Early Years Foundation Stage

3 - 5 years

At the Early Years Foundation Stage, there are seven areas of learning and development. All areas are important and inter-connected and are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

There are seven areas of learning and development. All areas are important and inter-connected and are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The seven areas are:

  1. Communication and language

    Children are given opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

  2. Physical development

    Young children are provided with opportunities to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children are also helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

  3. Personal, social and emotional development

    Children develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; form positive relationships and develop respect for others; develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and have confidence in their own abilities.

  4. Literacy

    Children link sounds and letters and begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.

  5. Mathematics

    Children develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

  6. Understanding the world

    Children learn to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

  7. Expressive arts and design

    Children explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.


Primary - Key Stages 1 and 2

Ages 5 - 11

The English National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘Key Stages’ (KS). Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 are referred to as Primary Education.  Throughout their years of Primary Education at EIS Moscow East, your child’s teacher will assess performance to measure your child’s progress.

Levels of attainment – measuring progress

For each subject there is a ‘programme of study’.  It describes what children should learn.  Each subject has ‘attainment targets’ - usually split into 8 levels for each subject. Parents receive two written reports during the academic year, telling you the level your child has attained.  The first is a Progress Reportwhich is issued at the end of the first term.  At this point you will be given a Level of Attainment for Reading, Writing and Mathematics, as well as progress and effort grades for each subject.

The End of Year Report will give parents an update on Levels of Attainment, progress and effort along with a comprehensive narrative for each subject.lude

By the end of Key Stage 1, children are expected to achieve level 2.
By the end of Key Stage 2, children are expected to achieve level 4.

The curriculum content for each subject is issued to parents at the start of each term.  Key Stage 1 & Key Stage 2 subjects inc:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • Russian
  • Art and Design
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)
  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT)

ICT is integrated into other areas of the curriculum, as technology is used to enhance learning as well as a research facility. Personal Social and Health Education is also integrated within the other areas of the curriculum


Secondary - Key Stage 3

Ages 11 - 14

The secondary school curriculum, from Year 7 to Year 11, follows the British model closely. Major subjects include: English, Mathematics, Science, French, Russian, ICT/Computing, History, Geography, World Studies, Art, Music, and Physical Education .